Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Not applicable
For what it's worth - I was a floor trader (dealer) on the JSE from 1967 to 1976. We saw a massive boom and bust in 1969. There was a bounce but then prices settled at VERY low levels. e.g. SAB was below 100c - albeit after a split. Prices generally (of non-mining shares) took some 10 years to recover. But the main problem for 4 or 5 years was the lack of trade. In April/May 1969 I could effect hundreds of trades in a day. In 1974 that had fallen to maybe 20 trades in a day and price movements were tiny. It's a bit different now. The contractual savings industry was in its infancy then: it's huge now. There were no SSFs, Warrants, CFDs etc. etc. then. Communication with the world was still very slow: now it's instantaneous. There were very few "day traders" operating on the JSE. And other differences - many of which have contributed to the speed and extent of recent declines. But what hasn't changed is human nature. When confidence is damaged it takes time to be restored: the greater the damage, the longer the recovery. And the damage globally is huge right now.
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
john_1
Super Contributor
great post...nice to know you have lived a breathed in the snake pit..
0 Kudos
saash
Super Contributor
Sea Pea ... lol! You've lived a good life. Thanks for sharing.
0 Kudos
Brazen
Super Contributor
Cool post Seapea. Hope the first of many. And you're still trading.
0 Kudos
G_V_V
Super Contributor