Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Anglo

eddy66
Super Contributor
I bought AGL at 17850 then again at 15700.It's obviously dissatisfactory to watch hard earned money declining,vanishing in front of your eyes,vanishing as I'm typing here...My question is,how do you sell short?I'm a new trader and all I've done until now is buy and sell when i've made a profit.In a bear market that's pretty hard to do! Please assist,thanks!
0 Kudos
richardw
Super Contributor
Eddy, please be careful. It's such a mad time to trade that you have a high chance of making a mistake. If it's hard-earned money, wait until you feel safer. Shorting etc might or might not work, and it's as scary if not more so because stocks like to wander up as soon as the bad news slows. Take one of the courses if you like, but try practice "on paper" and see if you would have made money. If you're investing for the long term: When you buy a stock, you don't lose until you sell. It's dropping now and it might take a while to get back but selling just means you ensure you made the loss and you lose on the trade out/trade in fees. Think about it calmly, not when you see red everywhere :)
0 Kudos
barry_1
Super Contributor