Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Help - can i double my profit in 1 year?

AP
Regular Contributor
I've receiced a family investment of about R5M. I am new in share trading and was told that one can easily double ones money in 1 year. I've jsut bought Ellies and Agnlo (50% each=R5M/2 = R2M each i think). A friend just showed me how to sell the shares. I've done so, but it look like I've received 20% less. How is this possible - thought that one makes money on the share market????
0 Kudos
24 REPLIES 24
warhippo
Super Contributor
It's a Friday phenomena. Suppose to be fun day! :)
0 Kudos
samoa
Super Contributor
For us to double ours....somebody must loose.Be patient,maybe next year will be your opportunity? I really hope you are joking!
0 Kudos
Penny_Pincher
Super Contributor
Hello my name is TB Joshua and I have a great investment in civil construction for you.
0 Kudos
prancing_horse
Super Contributor
Best Friday joke for some time..
0 Kudos
Not applicable
Lol, wish I had R5M to play with :-) Lol really hope this is a joke. It isn't really funny though..
0 Kudos
prancing_horse
Super Contributor
If not as they say, "a fool and his money are soon parted"
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
It's just a paper loss, just hold em until you get to 10 million........
0 Kudos
Vince888
Regular Contributor
AP. If it was that easy to double your money on the equity market, I would have put my house and everything on the stock market... The advice that you received was from a fool.
0 Kudos
Wino
Super Contributor
The way its worded, sounds like the pink panther has changed its vocation.
0 Kudos
Bangbielie
Contributor