Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

I am new to investing

Carlos
New Contributor
I am going to start off with R2000,Where do I start?
0 Kudos
47 REPLIES 47
Not applicable
Unless thats a typo, Investing R2000 is a bit of an oxymoron. If you want to trade you can maybe get away with a warrant or 2 but dont know how long that would last but if you want to invest Id advise at least R10000 otherwise the brokrage is going to knock you a bit.
0 Kudos
surfer
Regular Contributor
NOT WITH R2000 THATS FOR SURE
0 Kudos
dreamer
Contributor
welcome to the share market. i would advise to built up capital before investing. the brokerage costs on a R 2000-00 deal are high, and making a profit is really difficult when brokerage costs are over 1-2%. especially since you pay the brokerage costs bought when buying and selling. if not, options might be a share with a high dividend yield, or a small cap that has a good prospect for high growth in share price. good luck.
0 Kudos
Hibiscus
Regular Contributor
Please identify yourself under "i think it is time for roll caal" by John. hehe Agre eith the other forumites. I started with R17 000 buying GFI in July 2004. The amount was according to my calcs the optimum to start with re transaction costs
0 Kudos
SimonPB
Valued Contributor
satrix. But in truth it depends what you plan to achieve with the R2k? If you're lookign to double it quickly expect to loose it. If you want long term capital growth, easy enough, buy STX40 or a decent blue chip and come back in 2 years.
0 Kudos
Carlos
New Contributor