Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

I am new to investing

Q2W
Super Contributor
Like Chartist say with options, like warrants the spread is a problem. You need to decide for yourself, are you looking for a return of 10% next year this time, or do you want to double your money before New Years? The higher return you want, the higher the risk, so be aware of that. I started 9 years ago with R1000, after 2 weeks I added another R1000. Waiting for your shares/warrants to turn green is immpossible becaues of the spread and brokage cost. I saved enough money and came back and started making money. If you are willing to lose that money, maybe try warrants. But please know all the ins and outs of them. They are risky investments.
0 Kudos
Not applicable
So Numweling just to get this straight...are you in all seriousness suggesting that someone with R 2000 buys a share worth 1 or 2 cents? Come on man grow up we are not children here....
0 Kudos
Not applicable
I am not suggesting buying 1 and 2c shares, actually I am suggesting buying 5c shares. I bought Awethu in April @ 5c a share and sold less than a month later @ 50c a share.
0 Kudos
Not applicable
then how with R 2000 do you get a R 1000 change per 1c....amazing how bad the maths of these penny traders usually is...thats by a factor of 5 so if we extrapolate that to your percantage growth we can see where the problem is ...you do the math...
0 Kudos
Not applicable
The R1000 change per 1c was not based on a R2000 investment. It was a general remark. As a matter of fact I am an accountant and a formula queen. If you need help with your maths give me a call.
0 Kudos
Not applicable