Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Indicators

Not applicable
I am an intra day trader trading CFD's. I use MacD, EMA and price channels in my decision making when placing a trade. I have tested many time frames but consistantly miss trends in either direction. Could someone assist me with the best or more accurate time frame for the above please or should I use different indicators. Thank you in advance.
0 Kudos
15 REPLIES 15
Not applicable
well, to start with, you can't intra-day trade with CFD's. completely the wrong instrument
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
And don't use both EMA and MACD.....and what price Channels are you using....
0 Kudos
Not applicable
I trade CFD's on a weekly basis. The time scale currently is 22 days and 10 on occasion. So does MacD fall away completely? What must I use in it's place? Appologies if my termanology does not make sence, I'm trying to figure it out myself.
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
choose either MACD or EMA since MA in MACD is Moving Average...
0 Kudos
saash
Super Contributor
I also have a cfd portfolio. Whatever indicators and time-frame you are trying to use, do a back-test on what you determine to be buy-signals and sell-signals, for at least the past year or longer. Moving averages are lagging indicators, so they will not likely give you a signal at the point of a trend reversal, but will rather show you that a new trend may have developed, an existing trend is in tact, or that a trend might be comming to an end. For weekly trading, you might like to try the stockastic indicator.
0 Kudos
Preston
Super Contributor