Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Looking for a risky share?

SimonPB
Valued Contributor
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
i started a shipping company when i was 13
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
i had 20 shareholders each owning 5 shares at 1 cent a share
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
each pole had cost 5 cents....
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor
0 Kudos
WES
Super Contributor
I remenber 87, I was a third year student at tuks, used my student loan to buy "boumat" shares, that went horribly wrong, only paid off the damn loan years later !! eina
0 Kudos
Not applicable
0 Kudos
Not applicable
so its true, penny shares are risky business.
0 Kudos
Jim_Bean
Regular Contributor
I remember being a third year student at Rhodes... invested heavily in SAB and BAT and still managed to pass
0 Kudos
stores
Super Contributor
What year Jim ???..I was there 1979-1981...Finished a BCom...one of the first in College House to do it in three years...Got a 4% loan from Barclays when I started and plugged the bucks into shares....Dividends paid my beer and smokes money at the Union or in the Vic...Great days those were..Was a member of the BUMBLERS
0 Kudos
prancing_horse
Super Contributor
At 12 was in a partnership with a friend aged 10,raising day old *****rels and selling live chickens privately and at the local market (closed some 40 years ago), a partnership we carried on till his death some 8 years ago.Although we each had our own main business, our partnership was in a hotel, liquor outlets, and commercial property.Those early days of wheeling and dealing was our university.
0 Kudos
Yatagan
Frequent Contributor