Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Looking for advice - CA or CFA???

JimMorrison
Occasional Contributor
Hi all, I am currently in my 4th year of finance (CA) studies and am struggling with this question. I am only interested in working in finance (ie strictly no auditing/accounting). Is the CA therefore really worth the extra effort at the end of the day?
0 Kudos
11 REPLIES 11
Shaun_Siddall
Super Contributor
Yes do the TOPP route and not TIPP route for articles.
0 Kudos
Shard
Super Contributor
Been through this, you're at UCT doing BBusSci right? Do your CA, if you can, I gave up the goat because it drove me to drink too much. Did CFA instead, but I still see CA's as having a jumpstart on me in the job market. That said the Accountancy profession doesn't pay to badly and having your CA opens hundreds of doors that CFA doesn't, so you get a fall back plan as a bonus. I've been through what you're stuggling with now, if you feel you can get through GDA, then 3 years as a slave to the man working as a lowly articles clerk and then top it off by passing board 2, go for it. Of course you could do them both, but then you wont have a life for the next 4 years :) Hope that helps
0 Kudos
doomsdayza
Super Contributor
You can maybe get away with the auditing (you will have to do internal auditing in TOPP) but you'll never get away from the accounting during articles so if accounting is really not your thing then it's something to consider. You can do CFA during your articles though and then be a qualified CFA and CA by the time you are done. Like Shard says you won't have a life for the next 3 - 4 years but it can be done.
0 Kudos