Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

New trader

FJC
Occasional Contributor
I am new to warrants trading. I think I understand the longs but the shorts I still don't get so well. Is there someone that would care to chat with me via e-mail regarding this. I want to understand it completely before I try it. English or Afrikaans, does not matter to me.
0 Kudos
10 REPLIES 10
surfer
Regular Contributor
hi would not recommend you trade warrants if you dont know the diference between going long or going short .with warrants you need to understand the difference between put and calls and also how time decay affects your profits.
0 Kudos
FJC
Occasional Contributor
I want to understand it. That is why I am asking for someone to teach me...!
0 Kudos
kwagga
Super Contributor
Go to the help menu, Online courses, Warrants course. Take note of the tips relating to what to look out for when buying the warrant. Personally I don't like them. The time decay on the warrant can be a killer and you're at the mercy of the market makers. Rules never to break - don't buy a warrant with a time decay <90 days, don't buy a warrant under 20c. Make the warrant matrix your best friend when putting in your buy and sell orders.
0 Kudos
FJC
Occasional Contributor