Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Share Installments Price Drift?

Stij
Contributor
Guys, I need some help here. Just over a month ago, BILSTB would have been valued @ 7377 when BIL was at 21540. Looking at the matrix today, BILSTB would only be valued @ 7209 for the same price of the underlying. That's 2% less - I thought there was no time decay for installments? Is this the interest being charged and exactly how does this work? Preston?
0 Kudos
11 REPLIES 11
Stij
Contributor
0 Kudos
Preston
Super Contributor
I am no expert on this topic, this is the primary reason why i do not trade installment. I hate surprises. Possible solution 1. Are you sure that the original installment did not roll over into a new installment. That could account for the descrepancy. New cost including interest.
0 Kudos
Preston
Super Contributor
Seondly i am aware that standard bank have incorporate the "delta" principle into share installment. i.o w if the share price increases the delta can be greater than 1. 3. Last solution contact the call centre or post your original enquiry under "contact us". Someone with a greater understanding than me will try to assist you.
0 Kudos
Stij
Contributor
Thanks Preston. The installment didn't roll over - the only explanation I can think of is that the interest comes into the price over time and is not fully priced in for the term of the installment at the outset?
0 Kudos
Stij
Contributor
Just checked again - today it's down to 7201 for the same underlying price of 21540. Is Barry around?
0 Kudos
Preston
Super Contributor
Then it must be the "Delta implication".
0 Kudos
Stij
Contributor