Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Vodacom listing to go ahead on monday! Cosatu appeal rejected

_Marco_
Frequent Contributor
Pretoria - High-court judge John Murphy has decided to reject an application by trade union federation Cosatu and the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Icasa) to stop cellular giant Vodacom from listing on the JSE on Monday. Good news vodacom will still list on monday. What about the 6% share price drop witnessed @ the close of trade on friday, will there be some sort of compensation for those who held telkom shares during that period?
0 Kudos
13 REPLIES 13
David99755
Contributor
This is good news indeed, what is your source? I am also concerned about the drop as I bought at 118 and it closed at 113 - what do you think this will mean for the share price of TKG ex Vodacom?
0 Kudos
Oracle_of_Twini
New Contributor
For astute investors the 6% drop in the price should be within ones margin of safety, which on average should not be less than 20%. However, one must look at the bigger benefits that the vodacom listing will bring to Telkom shareholders, viz R19 dividend (which translates to a 16% discount on the price) plus the free vodacom shares which should list at a reasonable price given its market cap and share.
0 Kudos
David99755
Contributor
Being the Oracle, what do you reckon the VOD shares will trade at?
0 Kudos
Not applicable
Is this right, never thought that the court would hear this over the weekend. If indeed this is correct Yipeee!
0 Kudos
David99755
Contributor
0 Kudos
Oracle_of_Twini
New Contributor