Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

What is the primary focus of each and every trade?

Ninja
Super Contributor
Whether I am trading stocks or thee 5 min Dow chart what is my primary objective......to earn cash....to predict direction.....to be right? No, I have learnt that as long as I am focusing on trading correctly with no focus on profit all the good things follow. As soon as trading well becomes my 2nd objective I am dead in the water. I know this sounds very obvious but today the penny dropped....this is not a race to riches, trade well...that is all that matters.
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
BRE
Regular Contributor
What do you mean by trade well? Isn't the measure of trading well reflected by the positive value in your profit/loss column? Making a profit is my primary objective; trading well, i.e. sticking to my system, is my methodology.
0 Kudos
SimonPB
Valued Contributor
ninja, 100% .. hence my course is called trade to trade well .. BRE sticking to your system needs to be your primary objective, in fact nothing else maters .. do that profits will flow focus on profits and fear/greed will kill you system ..
0 Kudos
Not applicable
Thats why I suggested a few threads ago that newbies stop looking for the expolsive gains. Make 5% 2 times per month and you will do VERY VERY well (100% + gain in 12 months beating the ALSI and others by a good margin.) Even 1 trade once a month with 5% profit you will beat the ALSI. Less emotinal trades, more intelligent choices (correctly researched trades) with your tested system, more profit.