Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

how much to sell?

CandyO
Occasional Contributor
As a new trader I often wonder about this.... If I bought 100 Harmony shares @ R70 last week (R7000)and now they are selling @ R90 (R9000) - do I sell only enough shares to take the profit of R2000 (ie 22 shares @ R90)keeping the balance of shares (78 @ R70 )- or should I sell the whole lot @ R90 - and wait for the price to drop to buy them back again?
0 Kudos
29 REPLIES 29
Not applicable
how were YOU planning on exiting the position?
0 Kudos
prancing_horse
Super Contributor
To start with I'd say R7000 is too little to start trading, but if bought at R70 after costs the price paid would be clase to R71. Likewise when selling you have your costs.However if you still insist in purchasing such a small amount I'd say sell the lot, as the transaction cost for the few you have left, will hurt when you eventually sell them.
0 Kudos
CHATTYCHAT
Super Contributor
Agreed - the direct cost as per this example comes to 4,75 p.c. CGT does not come into play, as the value on its own will not attract this - BUT, depending on the time line (holding is shorter than 3 years) the profit will be taxed as income - even worse!
0 Kudos
superstar
Regular Contributor
I knw you said trading but I have found many new "players" confusing trading with investing. In any event what is your game plan and if you don't have any, get one very quickly
0 Kudos
Rams
Super Contributor