Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

lets put today into perspective

Not applicable
As a discretionary trader, I always keep a set of rules pinned up next to me, to keep my emotions out and to remain clinical. Today's setup was pretty obvious - as pointed out in another thread. The entry was determined by what I term - opening price rejection. Usually I get this entry on the premarket action but today I had to wait for the cash market open. The opening 5 minute candle tells the whole story. I find that the 1st 2 hrs on the JSE are the best for counter trend trading. Now - normally, I would let a trade ride, but it is stupid to think that such a bull market is just going to up and reverse itself, so when trading against the trend, I take profits - always. My targets were again fib retracement levels. The fact that we shot past them is irrelevant. Now, I am looking for a long entry, but this drop is a bit too far for my comfort levels (past the 61% retracement level), so I will wait for bottom confirmation (normally I would make use of my 3 strike long system - but that is another story).
0 Kudos
38 REPLIES 38
SimonPB
Valued Contributor
what you using to pace fibs ?? yesterday high/low ??
0 Kudos
SimonPB
Valued Contributor
my entry was just an engulfing candle, entry was 9.00 and just got stopped out .. 360 points which is a big trade for this system ..
0 Kudos
Not applicable
Yesterday high low on the futures - but they are really just to give perspective - they give a rough idea of range, and are not cast in stone levels.
0 Kudos
john_1
Super Contributor