Visit our COVID-19 site for latest information regarding how we can support you. For up to date information about the pandemic visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za.

bs-regular
bs-extra-light
bs-light
bs-light
bs-cond-light-webfont
bs-medium
bs-bold
bs-black

Community

Share knowledge. Ask questions. Find answers.

Online Share Trading

Engage and learn about markets and trading online

Steinhoff

Blik2
Contributor

Ouch. That has to be the biggest 1-day-drop for a top 40 company I have seen since I started trading/investing. Einaa.

15 REPLIES 15
prancing_horse
Super Contributor
Those that were short on the share have had Xmas early this year. Always found Steinhoff "murky", difficult to read.
mosismoke
Contributor
The question is: Why did they deny it in the first place?
partridge1
Regular Contributor

Goodnite Vienna

would you by a used car from....? Murky, obscure any one of those words will do. But it will likely bounce because Mr Market always overresponds to situations - and here is hoping it is recoverable.

Dr Wiese... not your best partnership I think ? 

Blik2
Contributor

Whats this called - a NAV oxymoron of sorts - not great to be Mr Wiese this morning, down by about 20 billion, but, hey whats all the fuss, then when you are/were worth 58 odd billion...lol.  NOT

partridge1
Regular Contributor

BUT if you buy blind - which at 14bucks is tempting - you have no idea what is actually going on now cos all the key stuff is going to be restated.. 

partridge1
Regular Contributor

Perhaps the better question is Why did the market deny it?

Vince888
Regular Contributor

I Guess for me......It is time to but more!!!

Vince888
Regular Contributor

meant buy more!!!

partridge1
Regular Contributor

So here is how I see it they are going to sell off some non  -core businesses (?) and then refinance debt in Star owing to Steinhoff whic the notice says they

will do at better rates (!!!!!)  ( which kind of asks and answers a question - do you wnat to ever